Autism and its effects on life

Adrian George Nicolae
3 min readMay 28, 2021
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

I’m sure we’ve all seen or heard of this word at some point in our life.
But what is it? What does it mean? Are you lacking in something if you have it?

According to Wikipedia, “Autism is a developmental disorder characterized by difficulties with social interaction and communication, and by restricted and repetitive behavior.”
Or in other words, one struggles to interact with people, and repeats certain things because it’s comforting.

The spectrum varies, and you can be functional, or you could only function with a carer or someone guiding you. Which, if you have someone you have to wait for, really sucks.
But basically, it’s a lot of stress in your head, a lot of missed cues, and a lot of frustrations when you eventually realise this. Those mind-blowing moments that feel like a sitcom scene after it happened.
And when I read business articles about a fixed mindset vs growth mindset, I generally fall into a fixed one, and that’s just because it’s a struggle to get out of it, not because I don’t want a growth one. I suppose it just takes time.

Anyway, I’m writing this because I randomly discovered I have it, after reading about it here.
And I have to tell you, while I’m not officially diagnosed, yet mostly everything from there matches…

--

--