How VR can change your gaming experience (and more)

Adrian George Nicolae
2 min readDec 8, 2022
Photo by Vinicius "amnx" Amano on Unsplash

Over the past month I’ve been fortunate enough to play on a Pico 4 VR headset. And I’ll tell you what, it has really changed the way I play games, or watch videos for that matter.

I’ve been a gamer for a number of years, and while I have touched some VR here and there, this time I’ve had my fair share of it.
So, because everything is in a first-person perspective, you have to move more, and it accentuates everything.

One of the games I’ve played is Superhot, a game where, if you don’t do anything, nothing happens.
I’ve known about it for years, and while it’s different with a keyboard and mouse, as well as with a joystick, playing it in VR can completely change the game for you. Oh, and make you sweat profusely, too. Because it feels like you’re exercising when you’re just dodging, ducking, and throwing stuff around.

Another game that can change your perspective is this nifty racing game called V-Speedway.
Basically, you maneuver with your hands, change gears with your hand, and pretty much crash with your hands. Compared to just pressing a button, it’s a sensorial difference and feel. One of those things that you have to try.

--

--