Joan is Awful, or data in the age of A.I.

Adrian George Nicolae
3 min readAug 21, 2023
Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

Some of you may have heard of Black Mirror, a show with dystopian stories of various degrees of potential happening.
In the latest season, the first episode is called Joan is Awful.
Without spoiling the whole episode, Joan and her partner are discovering this show on Streamberry (which is essentially Netflix) and it has someone else playing her, while going about her day, up to the point they’re at.

So, let me reiterate that to you. Joan wakes up, goes to work, has drama there, has drama somewhere else, goes home, they discover this show, who has other people playing her and the people she encountered throughout her day, and is set on ruining her life.

In a way, it is a movie within a movie, but as you’ll discover by the end of the show, this movie within a movie isn’t made by other people, but by A.I.. The wrong kind of people are just enabling it.

As I was watching this show, a few things hit me.

It’s exactly what the American writers/actors are striking about, as the big studios are refusing to budge on using A.I., as they’re only thinking about profits and nothing else useful.

Another thing that hit me is how comfortable some people have become while choosing the wrong thing, only to make an easier/faster buck, which…

--

--