Looking up to someone

Adrian George Nicolae
3 min readMar 16, 2019
Photo by Nik MacMillan on Unsplash

Some days you read something and you feel like you want to add something to it.
Well, today I reading an article about Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (AOC), the youngest congresswoman who caught America by surprise. I’m not going to say much about her because so far I’ve seen a lot of media and some old politicians be frightful, and that’s about it.
However, this article was saying that young women don’t have many political role models. And I was sitting there and thinking “Well, what about young men?”

And it made me think at how there’s a massive disparity between men, women, but also between the rich class and the non-rich class. Yeah, obviously, we already knew about that, through universities, acting, certain jobs and careers, but also politics.
And it is certainly commendable how AOC managed to get to this point despite being from a poor background, and yet I still keep thinking “Well, what about young men?”

Because, if you look at it, there aren’t many young men in politics, and if they are, they’re from a rich background, so me, personally, I could only identify with Barack Obama.
So the question is, how could a Eastern European white guy identify with an African-American?
The answer to that, Shirley, is not hard. He was personable.
“Explain.”
You see, the man had an appeal. I’m sure some Americans…

--

--