Monologue about love

Adrian George Nicolae
2 min readJan 15, 2018

--

I find park benches to be one of the best places where you could talk with someone. It’s a neutral ground, but also out in the open where you can use what tone you like to use, plus it has the advantage of a fresh air environment.

“So, what do you want from a relationship? What is it that you’re looking for?”
“I’ll tell you what. I’m not a materialistic type. I don’t care about that. I just want to have someone near me.
To rest my head on their shoulder while embraced, and not say a word apart from our faint breaths that will eventually sync.
​To feel that warmth when my cheek is gently on their back, to smile and kiss it for the joy it brings me.
To look each other in the eye and smile, or make faces, you know, be silly like that.
And somewhere around here you’ll ask me about sex. Screw sex. It’s not always about sex. I can pay for sex. I don’t want to do that, but I can get it anytime like that. What I’m talking about is sensuality. Touch. Feeling.
The need to caress and be caressed by someone, to simply fool around in an intimate way, but not that intimate of a way.
I find that people only care about the deep contact, and once that’s done, put your shoes on and get out.
We put up fronts about anything these days, but we’re lacking that goosebumps feel. When a finger gently flows on your jawline, then plays around between your lips and chin before going down, on the neck.
If you were to ask me what would be an absolute moment of happiness, it wouldn’t be money made, talking in front of people, or helping others with their dreams. Those are great moments, too, but just being like this with someone would suffice to make me forget about worldly problems.”
“What if I told you people still do that and you simply have to search harder?”
“I’ve been searching. I’m tired of that. I’m probably at that point where I don’t trust anyone anymore.”
“Yet you just told me all that about love.”
“Yeah, well, I don’t know if you’ll still want to talk to me after this, so I figured I’ll tell it to someone I know.”
“Why would I abandon you like this?”

This post first appeared on my website.

--

--