My one year challenge to myself

Adrian George Nicolae
2 min readMay 16, 2018

Yo…

As if the challenges don’t stop, I challenged myself to change my life in one year.
Why now?
Well, I’m in a good situation, having moved to a new place recently, where I can actually feel like a person and not a doll living in a cupboard or a drawer, as you do when you live in London.
Some creative stuff are picking up more than in the past, like acting, improv, physical theatre, and comedy, and as long as I stay away from “real” jobs and do artsy stuff, I’m glad.

Now, one of my challenges is to make myself happy, which I’ve never been, I don’t think. And more than anything, I realized in April that I can never be happy, but that doesn’t mean that I’ll stop trying. There have been times in my life when I’ve been in bliss and enjoyed myself aplenty, yet that “happy” part has eluded me every time. Can a perpetually glum person, not a pessimist or negativist, but a guy who has put “but” in front of him more often that he should have, as someone once told me a while ago, become happy? We’ll just have to see in a year’s time.

One of the things that I haven’t mentioned, as you do when you improvise and don’t have a script, is to work more self-employed.
Nothing wrong with working for others, because, in essence, everybody is working for everybody. Including people like Jeff Bezos, Warren Buffett, Mark Zuckerberg, and Elon Musk. They’re also working for themselves to provide something to others, which is what I’ve been striving…

--

--