The pointlessness of covid tests at the border

Adrian George Nicolae
3 min readNov 21, 2021
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

So, I’m a European guy that travelled throughout Europe this Summer. And this is going to about that experience. And yes, I know, I’m a few months late, but life gets in the way sometimes.

You see, when I left the Uk to travel, I went by train, and while they were telling me I had to do a PCR test, nobody gave a damn about that, or that I was vaccinated. They just wanted to see the Personal Locator Form(PFL), and that’s it.

The Belgium government (where I arrived) told me to do 2 PCR tests, and not go out of the house, so from that aspect, they were on it.

During this trip I only travelled by train, and with the exception of the Slovakian border patrol, nobody came to check if anybody might have anything, which for me was great, because you can get tired of always tests.
But then in France, they were checking before you boarded, if you were vaccinated at least, so there’s that.

After some more travelling, I went back to Belgium to go back to the Uk, again, via train.
This time, albeit 4 months later, things were different.
I had to pay for an LFT test, that was free in most of Europe, not only that, but I had a box of them, and the people at the train station wouldn’t accept them as they weren’t on a piece of paper. Amazing.
After that, I had to provide my…

--

--