When I was a kid, I…

Adrian George Nicolae
3 min readJul 31, 2018
“A toddler standing at the bottom of a tall staircase” by Mikito Tateisi on Unsplash

I was recently in Brighton, and there I tried two things that I failed at. I know, it’s not cool to say that you failed at something, but I’ve never been one to shy away from saying the direct thing (failed) as opposed to the more diplomatic thing like the Brits do (just not as good).

As a kid, I never really had much. After junior school I had no friends as we split up in different high schools and I moved in a new borough. It was annoying and frustrating moving into a place where either kids were under 8, or most people were over 35. Nobody to befriend. I’m sure you’ve heard sob stories like this.

However, let’s get back to when I was under 10 myself.
I had a few friends in my building block, and we’d usually play football, some random games like tag, catch, ducks and hunters, cops and robbers, card games, and other stuff, too. It was fun. And kids today won’t really know that. Sounds like an old timer’s thing to say, but it’s true.

You see, one of the things that I did back then was to climb trees, garages, and other concrete items. I remember one day I came home with some bruises on my thighs, yet nothing was hurting, all from doing slow rock climbing with my local abandoned builder’s site. It felt great.
Climbing things releases endorphins that make one feel good about themselves, because you’re doing a challenge. It’s like…

--

--